Families Connect

We know that for some of our incoming Cyclones, preparing for college is a family adventure full of important deadlines, crucial information, and financial preparation. This series of virtual events is designed to walk you through the adventure to Iowa State in a fun, digestible and informative way.

Throughout this series you will meet with professionals from around campus who work in areas such as; financial aid, residence life, housing and student wellness. You will also hear from, and be able to ask questions of some of our current Cyclone family members, who will be providing tips on how they navigated the journey that brought their student to Iowa State.

Dates Topics Covered
Thursday, September 24 at 4 pm or Tuesday, September 29 at 7 pm
  • Meet and greet with some of our staff
  • Application pointers
  • OneApp scholarship application
  • Bringing high school credits
Thursday, October 29 at 4 pm or
Tuesday, November 3 at 7 pm
  • Submitting the FAFSA
  • Housing options and residence life
  • Accepting the offer of admission
Thursday, November 19 at 4 pm or
Tuesday, November 24 at 7 pm
  • Honors/GWC Scholarships ahead of the December 1 deadline
  • Campus visit programming
Thursday, December 17 at 4 pm or
Tuesday, December 22 at 7 pm
  • What’s next (Progress report for what is ahead, orientation, financial aid packages, admitted student programming, roommates)
Thursday, January 28 at 4 pm or
Tuesday, February 2 at 7 pm
  • Student support and wellness
  • Intramurals
  • Orientation
Thursday, February 25 at 4 pm or
Tuesday, March 2 at 7 pm
  • Breaking down the financial aid offer
  • Maximizing scholarship consideration
  • Orientation
Thursday, March 25 at 4 pm or
Tuesday, March 30 at 7 pm
  • Housing and residence life
  • Dining
Thursday, April 29 at 4 pm or
Tuesday, May 4 at 7 pm
  • Decision guidance
  • Orientation
Thursday, May 27 at 4 pm or
Tuesday, June 1 at 7 pm
  • Accounts receivable
  • Billing
  • Payment plan
  • Destination Iowa State
Register for Thursday
Sessions at 4 pm
Register for Tuesday
Sessions at 7 pm